Trochu News April 16, 2014

Trochu Elks 200 Club winners for March were Maxine Jensen, Bobby Painter, Joanne Winther, Lynn Hughes and Cheryl Keila.
The Trochu and District Hall Development Society 300 Club winners for March were Bruce Cunningham, Randi Hogg, Larry Weimer, Danielle Robertson and Katie Meehan.
On a chilly afternoon, April 8, a number of seniors and guests ventured out for bingo and birthday celebrations at the Drop In Centre. The numbers for ten games were called by Ed Henkel with Jim Deering assisting. Dianne Bresett, Irene Diack and Dorothy Haller were the blackout winners. Music was provided for the singing of Happy Birthday and those present to have their picture taken were Marj Haller, George Kuntz, Marilyn Olmstead and Velma Weiss. Birthday cake and visiting was enjoyed by all.
Food and fellowship filled the St. Paul's United Church basement on Wednesday evening, April 9. Approximately 140 people turned out for the two sittings at 5:00 and 6:15 pm and enjoyed homemade stew, biscuits, buns and dessert. Friends from south in Three Hills and north in Elnora, as well as community members from other faiths, joined for the evening's fare. In addition to supporting the church's fundraising efforts, an evening of community socializing was enjoyed by all. Hats off to everyone involved in any way to make the evening such a success.
OORP news
The regular meeting of Trochu OORP #71 was held on April 8 with 18 members present. Following roll call, the minutes of the March meeting were read and both treasurer's reports were given. Plans were finalized to attend the visit of SHRL at Trenville April 10, and the District Meeting in Drumheller April 12. Calendar lists were distributed. The nominating committee report was given by PDD Pat Holowath, with installation on May 27. The memorial service was tentatively set for May 26, at St. Mary's Lodge. PDD Jean Frede and Lady Wendy Christensen were presented with 40 year service pins Committees were named and Lodge closed in regular form. A tasty lunch was enjoyed. The next meeting is May 13.